KRISTAL User Community
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Clicking sound !
Beefhart
Newbie
*




Posts: 1
Registered: 13-4-2012
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 13-4-2012 at 05:56
Clicking sound !


Using with M auidio fast track, recording with SM 58, keep getting bad tapping sound on playback. When i export to WAV, it's still there, is my XLR cable bad or is it my AISO settings??
Any help would be appreciated.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
gcdownie
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 733
Registered: 20-8-2008
Location: Southern California
Member Is Offline

Mood: F.I.N.E.

[*] posted on 15-4-2012 at 20:34


can you post a short sound clip?
g
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Alan
Junior Member
**




Posts: 4
Registered: 24-4-2012
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 24-4-2012 at 06:01


I seem to be having synchronizing issues with the metronome. After I record something and then take it back to the beginning, the metronome is out of sync with the performance. If I add another track, when the two tracks are played back they are out of sync with each other. Is there any way to correct this problem?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Dino Wodini
Posting Freak
*****


Avatar


Posts: 3605
Registered: 10-8-2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Life isn't about how to survive the storm,but how to dance in the rain

[*] posted on 24-4-2012 at 06:19


Hi Alan

The problem is generally called "LATENCY".

This has to do with the Soundcard you are using generally and the time the signal goes from your input (Line In) to being written on the hard drive. (I think). Generally, installing an ASIO4ALL driver will help with Latency (see Search below)

I have a 3.7Ghz PC and I still get latency on my tracks.

The "easy fix" is to Left Mouse (Hold) on the track you just recorded and drag it back to the left until it lines up. Do the same with each and every track you record.

If you are going to do it this way then it might be best if you give your self a scratch or tap on the guitar as you are listening to the Metro. At least this way you can line your track up on the "1st" beat of a bar.

Use the SEARCH option at the top of this page and type in th3 following words in separate searches
- Latency
- Out of Sync
- ASIO
- Bleeding
- Mp3
- Mixdown
= File Management (mportant one)

This will bring up lots of posts from the past 8 years. We have all encountered what you are going through so sit back and take a cup of coffee and have a little read. It will be well worth your time as every posible scenario and problem has been covered so well in the past threads.

Also, if you press F1 whilst in Kristal this will bring up the Help Manual. Good idea to have a quick look through that.

Happy recording.:)




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
26-4-2012 at 03:09
Dino Wodini
Posting Freak
*****


Avatar


Posts: 3605
Registered: 10-8-2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Life isn't about how to survive the storm,but how to dance in the rain

[*] posted on 26-4-2012 at 13:58


Well Alan. Did any of that help. Nice to get some feedback. Just a little:)



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pilsener
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 134
Registered: 26-12-2009
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 29-4-2012 at 18:22


The clicking sound......can it be clipping/peaking ?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Alan
Junior Member
**




Posts: 4
Registered: 24-4-2012
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 29-4-2012 at 19:10


Sorry Dino. Apparently I should make the adjustments before I save the recording, because I can't seem to figure out the problem with a saved recording, yet perhaps.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Alan
Junior Member
**




Posts: 4
Registered: 24-4-2012
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 1-5-2012 at 00:14
I can't drag it to the left


I appreciate your being there, in spite of the time difference. I have a friend in Brisbane. I've tried to grab it and drag it over in order to line it up, and it won't let me do it. I've also downloaded ASIO4ALL and can't seem to get that to launch. Could it be Windows 7?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
gcdownie
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 733
Registered: 20-8-2008
Location: Southern California
Member Is Offline

Mood: F.I.N.E.

[*] posted on 1-5-2012 at 02:45


My $.02 usd. W-7 & ASIO4ALL work well together. It launches thru Kristal, as an ASIO audio selectable device (Audio Output choice).

Moving track left...you need to make a little space for that by doing something like grabbing the square handle at the lower left corner of the track and moving it to the right, or slicing the track ahead of the waveform. That'll allow you room to move. If the track is all the way over to the left edge it has no place to move.

g
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Dino Wodini
Posting Freak
*****


Avatar


Posts: 3605
Registered: 10-8-2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Life isn't about how to survive the storm,but how to dance in the rain

[*] posted on 1-5-2012 at 15:45


As GC says...no rooom on left then you cannot drag it. An idea I always use is to start my recordings in about 6 bars into the Waver.

Can you drag it to the right??? That is a good indication if your system is working with Kristal.

Dont forget to have a read of the maual (F1) thats a great start.

Keep at at it. Kristal is a really low entry recording software and will put you in good stead if and when you move up.




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Alan
Junior Member
**




Posts: 4
Registered: 24-4-2012
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 1-5-2012 at 17:37


I really appreciate it, you guys. Great idea to start a few bars in. The problem I seem to be running into is that the beat is about an 1/8 note late, and I can only move 1/4 each way.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
gcdownie
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 733
Registered: 20-8-2008
Location: Southern California
Member Is Offline

Mood: F.I.N.E.

[*] posted on 1-5-2012 at 19:08


Quote: Originally posted by Alan  
The problem I seem to be running into is that the beat is about an 1/8 note late, and I can only move 1/4 each way.


check & see if the 'snap to grid' feature is turned on & if it is try making the snap preset value smaller (or just turn it off).
View user's profile View All Posts By User
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
9-5-2012 at 10:13
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
9-6-2012 at 08:45
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
27-8-2012 at 22:49
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
31-8-2012 at 10:33
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
4-9-2012 at 22:45
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
13-9-2012 at 22:53
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
20-9-2012 at 10:29
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
20-9-2012 at 22:52
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
23-9-2012 at 06:38
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
29-9-2012 at 08:28
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
30-9-2012 at 23:06
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
4-10-2012 at 22:46
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
8-10-2012 at 13:38
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
8-10-2012 at 21:45
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
12-10-2012 at 22:20
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
19-10-2012 at 09:07
combobob
Administrator
Thread Pruned
20-10-2012 at 01:14
Markwhite07
Moderator
Thread Pruned
22-10-2012 at 17:58

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2012 The XMB Group