KRISTAL User Community
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: need help - external editor
slub

[*] posted on 4-5-2013 at 21:19
need help - external editor

I'm new to Kristal. I selected Audacity as external editor in preferences. When I use Audacity as external editor and unlock and refresh in Kristal, nothing happens.

I set Audacity to copy file as well as well as read the file from original. I've saved changes in Audacity and not saved changes. Nothing I do seems to make any difference at all when I get back to Kristal.

I've been able to muck my way through it all up to this point, but now I'm stumped. Can someone help me?

On a different, but related note, how is the learning curve of Studio One Free compared to Kristal?

Griff5

[*] posted on 5-5-2013 at 04:49

I use Wavosaur as my external editor, works real well, I haven't tried Audacity from inside Kristal so I thought I'd give it a go. I opened a project in Kristal selected a track, right clicked and chose edit in external editor. When Audacity opened I chose read directly from original. Did some edits and clicked the file tab and chose export. I chose the original Kristal project media file for the save destination, Kristal pulls from this file so I kept the same file name as the original and did an over ride of the original file on the save. Unlock and refresh in Kristal and the edited track showed up.You need to use the export, Audacity saves in a format that only opens in Audacity.With Wavosaur when I'm done editing I just close the program it asks if I want to save, click yes and it opens up in Kristal with the unlock and refresh. Audacity is a little more work but workable. I use Audacity for tempo changes and click tracks and Wavosaur as my external editor from Kristal. Both programs are free and useful. As far as Studio One goes, someone else will have to help you out. I have it but really don't use it. Hope this helps.
slub